The Euroregion will manage a university mobility scholarship

Publication date: 



The General Assembly held on 13 April 2021 of the New-Aquitaine Euskadi Navarre Euroregion, validated the framework of the Eurorregional Scholarship as an action to promote the mobility of university students and doctoral students within the Euroregional territory. This scholarship, which will be managed directly by the Euroregion, is the result of a need identified by the university cooperation strategy that will be published in the coming months.

The Eurorregional Scholarship is a device launched by the Euroregion in 2016. It consists of granting a monthly scholarship to students and doctoral candidates who reside in one of the three member territories of the Euroregion-New Aquitaine, Euskadi and Navarre- and who wish to travel to study in another one of them.

Its objective is to promote mobility between the member territories of the Euroregion to reinforce the Euroregional sentiment, in a philosophy involving proximity internationalisation. The scholarship helps students and doctoral candidates better understand the cross-border space thanks to an academic experience that enriches their career and gives them the opportunity to acquire intercultural skills.

The Eurorregional Scholarship will be divided into two devices: one will be aimed at undergraduate and master's students and will amount to 300 euros per month, paid in two instalments, from 2021 onwards. The other will be specifically aimed at doctoral students, whose stays are usually shorter. The selection criteria will be presented later. Special attention will be paid to balancing the beneficiaries, the host and home universities and the academic fields represented.

In both cases, the Euroregional Scholarship will be top up other financial aid scholarships, such as the Crous or Erasmus scholarships, for example.

The call for applications for 2021 will open in May, the final dates to be announced shortly. The Euroregional scholarship application can be made from the Euroregion website: