Icon for A Level conformance with Accessibility Guidelines for 1.0 Web Content of the W3C-WAI
The Provincial Council

The Provincial Council is one of the principal institutions of the Autonomous Community of the Basque Country.

Each of the three territories or provinces (Alava, Bizkaia and Gipuzkoa) has a general (legislative) assembly and a government with broad powers, including the collection of direct and indirect taxes.

Each General Assembly has 51 members elected by universal suffrage in the geographical constituencies for which the different parties present their electoral lists. The General Assembly votes on the budget and elects the executive that will govern the province.

The government of each province is the "Diputación" (Provincial Council). It is headed by the Diputado General (Chief Councillor), who is supported by a team of councillors who take responsibility for the various areas of government.

They have a broad range of powers covering issues such as town planning, roads and public works, the environment, cultural heritage and social welfare.

The three Basque historical territories are entirely equal within the political and administrative structure of the Basque Autonomous Community. The association between the institutions mentioned above and the Basque Government gives the Autonomous Community a confederal organisational structure.

All taxes, whether they are direct (income or corporation tax) or indirect (VAT, alcohol or fuel taxes) are collected by the Provincial Councils in their own territories.

The Basque Higher Financial Council then distributes the money collected by the institutions. After the share corresponding to the Spanish government has been handed over, the Provincial Councils and the Basque Government determine the way in which the remainder will be divided between the latter and each of the Historical Territories.

Provincial Council of Alava
Provincial Council of Bizkaia
Provincial Council of Gipuzkoa

Fecha de la última modificación: 30/06/2009