Icon for A Level conformance with Accessibility Guidelines for 1.0 Web Content of the W3C-WAI

The Basque education system guarantees the provision of compulsory education free of charge from ages 6 to 16. It is characterised by a bilingual system in Basque and Spanish, the two official languages.

Education is structured on three levels: Primary (up to age 12), Secondary (up to 16) and Further Education/ Vocational Training, extending subsequently to university, polytechnic and higher vocational training college studies. In December 2002 a decree was passed regulating early-learning centres for children up to the age of 3.

The Basque Country has four universities, which between them have 28 faculties or schools, 3 higher technical colleges and 11 university colleges. The publicly-run University of the Basque Country (EHU-UPV) provides higher education in a range of areas, including medicine, science, fine arts, journalism, economics and industrial engineering.

There are also several foreign schools (German SchoolAmerican SchoolFrench School, etc.) which provide education according to the syllabuses of their respective home countries.


The Basque Country has three universities, which between them have 28 faculties, 3 higher technical colleges and 11 university colleges, where around 5,000 staff teach over 68,000 students.

The publicly-run University of the Basque Country (EHU-UPV) has campuses in all three provinces of the Basque Autonomous Community. It provides courses in a range of areas, including medicine, the various disciplines of science, fine arts, law, economics/ business studies and industrial engineering.

The prestigious University of Deusto  has been run privately by the Company of Jesus for more than a hundred years. It also has colleges in all three provinces.

It has consolidated its reputation over the years mainly thanks to its two main faculties: Law and Business Science. A large proportion of Spain’s most highly-regarded businessmen and women and managers of major private corporations were educated there.

The University of Navarra also has two colleges on the San Sebastián campus. The Higher College of Industrial engineering opened in 1961, and currently offers courses leading to four qualifications: Industrial Engineer, Materials Engineer, Engineer in Automatics and Industrial Electronics and Engineer in Industrial Organisation. The second college is the Higher School of Secretarial and Clerical Studies.

In September 1997 the Basque Parliament approved the first charter granted to a private university since the Franco years: that of the University of Mondragón. Founded under the auspices of the Mondragón industrial group, this is the first university in Europe to be based on a co-operative structure.


Vocational Training

Alongside its consistent backing for universities as essential tools in assuring modern, high-quality education in the Basque Country, the Basque Government also offers firm support for vocational training. Such training is seen as a way of providing people with skills and helping make Basque businesses more competitive. Vocational training has strategic value for the Basque Country. Almost 7,44% of all non university students are currently receiving some kind of  vocational training in the Basque Country. The Basque Autonomous Community has 155 publicly-run and grant-aided training schools covering a full range of specialist areas.



Related links
Pupils, teachers and centres
Departament of Education, Universities and Research


Source: Presidency of the Government - General Secretariat for Communication

Fecha de la última modificación: 13/11/2008